Index Community to propose new name
Date Added: 18 November 2015

Camdeboo, Baviaans and Ikwezi Municipalities are embarking on a series of ward meetings and stakeholder engagements in order to determine the name of the new municipality to be established, resulting from the amalgamation of the aforementioned municipalities.

This is after the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs requested the Municipal Demarcation Board to re-determine the boundaries of certain municipalities.

The matter, after being entertained by the Courts, has now progressed to the stage where the Eastern Cape MEC for Local Government and Traditional Affairs has promulgated legislated transitional measures to facilitate and put into place the re-structuring of the affected municipalities.

The Political Change Management Committee, headed by the Executive Mayor of Sarah Baartman District Municipality, Cllr. Eunice Kekana, is in the process to establishing a Name Change Committee, which comprise of representatives of all the affected municipalities to manage the process.

A number of key areas should be looked at when thinking of a new name.

This includes:

- Consideration of an Icon of that municipal area, it could be a representative of the democratic dispensation that seeks to promote national unity and cohesion.
- A geographical feature that seeks to embrace the diverse cultures, and in doing so, shape people’s national character.
- It could be a well thought out name that facilitates healing, upholding symbolic restitution.
- The name should not be offensive.
- It should not be associated with colonial/ apartheid features.
- The name should seek to unite people of the new municipality.
- Name that has potential to bring investment and promote tourism.

The deadline for submissions is 24 November 2015. Residents can obtain proposal forms from the Communications Officers of the various municipalities or from the administrative buildings of the municipalities.

All registered stakeholders, individuals and communities of the three municipalities are requested to submit a proposed name, with a motivation, for the new municipality.

For more information please speak to your councillor or contact your respective local municipality.