Index Sarah Baartman District Municipality Does It Again!
Date Added: 14 January 2016

Sarah Baartman District Municipality was recognized as the best ANC run District Municipality in the Eastern Cape province and comes as the 2nd best ANC run District Municipality in the country after Steve Tshwete District Municipality. 

According to The Herald, President Jacob Zuma honoured the district municipality with the ZK Matthews Award during the party’s 104th birthday celebrations in North West on Saturday.

The municipality oversees nine local municipalities, which form large parts of the Eastern Cape’s western inland and coastal towns.

The municipality recently received its second clean audit, for the 2014-15 financial year.

Speaking at a press conference in Kirkwood yesterday, Sarah Baartman District Executive Mayor, Eunice Kekana, said unity and stability in the ANC regional leadership were vital to their performance.

“The political leadership in the region understands the role of local government.

“They don’t interfere in the administration,” she said.

“As deployees of the ANC we are given space to run local government – they guide us into following policies of the organisation.”

Kekana said it was encouraging to be recognised by the ANC’s national leadership as a runner-up in best-performing municipalities.