Introduction to the Sarah Baartman District Municipality

The Sarah Baartman District Municipality is situated in the western portion of the Eastern Cape Province. Although it completely surrounds Nelson Mandela Bay, the two areas are independent entities serving different communities.

A district municipality, as opposed to metropolitan and local municipalities, provides support to local municipalities within its area that are too small, poor or rural to provide all the services required by their communities. 

The Sarah Baartman District Municipality capacitates 7 local municipalities, namely Kou-Kamma, Dr Beyers Naude, Kouga, Blue Crane Route, Sundays River Valley, Ndlambe and Makana. It shares the responsibility of providing basic services like electricity, water and refuse removal with the Local Municipalities.

The head office of the Sarah Baartman District Municipality is located in Govan Mbeki Avenue, Port Elizabeth.

The municipality has three departments, namely Finance and Corporate Services, Infrastructure Services and Economic Development Services. A significant amount of time and resources are spent on development, creating projects to grow skills, employment and initiate sustainable economic development as well as elevating the quality of life in the district.

The district covers approximately 58 242 square kilometres, while the people living in the Sarah Baartman District speak isiXhosa (49%), Afrikaans (45%) and English (6%) as their home language. The estimated population size is 451 000.

An innovative and dynamic municipality striving to improve the quality of life for all our communities.

To provide equitable, affordable services and sustainable socio-economic development through:

- Stakeholder participation;
- Capacity building; and
- Efficient and effective management of resources.

In addition to the Batho Pele principles, our municipality commits itself to upholding the following set of values:

- Good governance;
 Public Participation;
People Development;
Team work;
Responsibility; and