Kouga Local Municipality

Kouga Local Municipality covers a fertile coastal landscape of approximately 2133 square kilometres and is home to a small population of about 70 000 people (2001: Stats SA). It is situated approximately 20 kilometres west of Port Elizabeth and includes the coastal zone between the Van Standens River in the east and the Tsitsikamma River in the west, and stretches inland towards the Baviaanskloof Mountains in the north.

Home to the perfect wave, Kouga is a hotspot for watersports, yet has great cultural diversity, underdeveloped natural beauty and offers a tranquil and relaxed family-friendly environment with easy access to modern conveniences. The area is characterized by three main topographical regions, namely:

The four main rivers in the area -€” the Kromme, Seekoei, Kabeljouws and Gamtoos - are all tidal rivers. The Kromme River and Gamtoos River are significant sources of water supply. Ground water forms another major component of domestic water supply for towns in the Kouga region, especially Humansdorp, Jeffreys Bay, St Francis Bay, Cape St Francis and Oyster Bay. Aquifers are also utilised in the agricultural sector for irrigation of pastures.

The area is amongst the fastest growing in the country, which is currently driven by property development - mainly residential estate developments with some commercial and industrial developments.

Jeffreys Bay is home to the world renowned surfing spot, Supertubes; as well as the Shell Museum, which showcases shells from across the world. Tourism and agriculture are the key industries.

The Kouga Municipality is governed by a 20-member Council, and is divided into 10 electoral wards.

Tel: 042 200 2200